Good morning, sunshine.

Screen Shot 2017-03-11 at 8.45.39 AM
Photo by Tazo.

I love mornings — I love mornings so much that I’ve probably annoyed all the roommates I’ve ever had with my peppiness. I’ve never been able to sleep in on weekends, and that used to drive me crazy. What kid wants to get up at 7 a.m. on a Saturday?

In fact, one summer, before I was even legally able to work part-time, I got up at 6:30 every morning, grabbed a book from my night stand, picked up my blanket, and read in my living room for about two hours while the sun came up. I never set my alarm that summer, but I listened to my body. If I’d had enough sleep, I just got up and got on with my day. That’s the summer I finally embraced early mornings.

And now I find myself writing this blog at 7 a.m. on a bright Saturday morning after waking up at 6:21 and making myself some tea. My mind is sharpest really early, which is why I tend to go into work earlier than I need to, go to coffee shops before the morning rush and go to 8:30 a.m. barre classes.

I just feel like the majority of people spend so much time complaining about “having” to get up early or mope about, whining that they’re still tired. GET OVER IT. The only thing stopping you from waking up energized and getting on with your day is yourself – regardless of whether it’s a weekday or weekend.

This is my recipe for waking up early, energized and happy:

  1. {CALM}omile tea is your best friend. Chamomile tea is a natural sedative, so if you have trouble sleeping, it’s an alternative to Melatonin. My favorite is Tazo’s Calm Chamomile blend, with rose petals and herbs.
  2. Meditate before you go to bed. I’ve only started meditating recently, but I’ve found that 1) I fall asleep much more quickly; 2) sleep more soundly through the night; and 3) wake up feeling more energized. (Check out my favorite dude Vishen’s six-phase meditation as a place to start.)
  3. Choose your own “alarm song.” Ditch Radar and Sencha, your phone’s default alarm tones. Those really tinny sounds are, to me, part of the problem. Rather than opting for those defaults, choose your own song to wake up to. The first three words I hear every morning are “Good morning, sunshine.” That’s not a bad way to start the day. Disclaimer: don’t choose your favorite song as your alarm song. If you do, it won’t be your favorite song for much longer. 
  4. Make a morning playlist. In my opinion, it must have Jason Mraz — but ultimately go with songs that just help you feel energized.
  5. The morning is not the enemy. Stop waking up annoyed at the world. If you’re physically able to get out of bed in the morning, there’s absolutely no reason for you to whine and complain. You’re your own enemy when it comes to waking up early.

Hopefully this helps!

 


Have some morning motivation with your coffee – sign up for Shine Text! It’s FREE.
Leave a Reply

